Who am I?

About a week ago, I met with a family to interview with them as a potential summer nanny. The interview went great, I got the job; however I left with the realization that I had no idea who I was.

It had all come down to the last 5 minutes of the interview, when I turned to the two little girls I would most likely be spending my summer with and said “Do you girls have any questions you want to ask me?” One of the girls, Cailyn responded eagerly with the one question I never realized I did not have an answer to: “What are your hobbies?”

I have absolutely ~none~. Sure, there are things I enjoy doing, but there is nothing that I could say I am truly passionate about- and I want to be passionate about something, anything! Truth is, my entire life I’ve been a quitter: you name it and I’ve probably tried it. Ballet, swimming, soccer, drawing, running, dancing, figure skating, etc. But I have never stuck to a single hobby. Now here I am, a freshman in college slowly becoming an “adult”, yet I have absolutely no passions.

That’s when I decided that starting now I would try to find myself; my passions, hobbies, and goals. After all, if I’m going to be paying $30,000 a year for the “best four years of my life” the least I could do is figure out is who I am. I guess that’s how I ended up here: practically talking to myself on a “blog” that will hopefully relate to at least one other person. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

